International Day for Failure: My Baby Steps in Photography

Ten years ago I travelled from Johannesburg to Nairobi with zero knowledge of photography and a compact camera without a zoom. The many photos of tiny animals are mostly useless.

Five years later I learned the basics of photography and went back with a camera that had as much reach that I was able to afford. The superzoom camera was just too inaccurate and slow to focus and I didn’t know yet how to compensate.

The headless lion made me learn more about photography and buy a better camera. A few years later I was able to fill the frame with a flying bird.

During the next five years I will make many mistakes while aiming for more visual and story-telling photos and when trying something new. You can learn by imitation but mistakes increase your knowledge much more – if you don’t give up. And why would you give up if it is something enjoyable or important?

October 13th is the International day for Failure.

An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made in a very narrow field
– Niels Bohr

Leave a Reply

